Postcards – Bought and made

Even though I’ve only been in Iceland for about three weeks I couldn’t resist buying and sending a few postcards to friends and family already. Of course I forgot to take a photo of the first outgoing batch of cards, but these are the ones I send today πŸ™‚

DSC03839

These are now on their way to Germany, Hawaii, Russia and New Zealand. I can’t wait to hear how long they take to arrive. So far I figured out that mail to Germany is relatively quick as the card I send to my parents arrived after just a few days.

On my days off work I felt like being creative so I did a few watercolour (aquarell) paintings. I brought a little postcard sized block of Watercolour paper with me and it was a really good decision. These are the ones I made so far:

DSC03853

The peacock feather was just for fun and then I wanted to paint something with an Icelandic theme, so I attempted the Northern lights. The white dots on the bottom one were supposed to be stars but look more like snow :D. My only Issue now is that I’m not sure weather they will survive being send as normal postcards or if the risk of them getting wet on the way to their destination is too big… Has anyone experience with sending watercolour postcards? Did they arrive at their destination safely or did the picture got destroyed when they got wet? I appreciate any tips πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Postcards – Bought and made

  1. Love the postcards you made yourself!
    I’ve never send watercolour postcards before so I don’t know how they’ll hold up. I imagine though spraying them with a sealer would work. You can usually pick decent sealers up in craft stores. If you can’t find a good sealer, you could always try hairspray. Don’t know if it would work for this but I use hairspray when I use chalks and it works alright.

    Like

    1. I didn’t even think of Hairspray, so I might have to try that out, thank you :). There are no proper craft stores around where I’m staying in Iceland, which is both a blessing and a curse but I think of it as a way to help me ave money πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

