Whale Update

Its been a while since I last wrote anything about my work, mostly due to the fact that the last days have been quite crazy. July is the busiest month so far and we have been a lot of big groups from cruise ships coming out with us, so there’s quite a few evenings when all I have the energy to do after work is sit in bed and watch a movie. Most days out on the water have been really great though. I’ve been doing my best to keep track and record how many different humpback whales we’ve been seeing (well I’ve been seeing since I’m the only one taking pictures almost every tour I’m doing, unless it rains to much to take my camera with me). Since the beginning of the season we’ve had at least 18 different individuals and just last Sunday there were two individuals that we hadn’t seen before. I’m still trying to find out if there is a catalogue for all the humpback whales coming to Iceland, but so far no luck there.

We’ve been lucky that the whales still come quite far into the fjord and last week we had a great morning with one individual breaching a lot. He had a whole routine going on breaching for 3-4 times, then doing some flipper slapping, finally coming up for a breath ones or twice before starting to breach again. It was so special to observe.

So now of course, some more pictures:

Breach
Breach
and another one :)
and another one 🙂

IMG_7868

New individual
New individual
coming up right next to us
coming up right next to us
Leave a Reply

