Winter in Kempten

So I’m back at home and there will be quite a few posts over the next few days about my adventures. For now I’ll tell you about my trip to Bavaria to visit my sisters. My oldest sister has lived in Kempten (a city in the ‘Allgäu’) for quite some time now but until the other week I’d never managed to visit her in winter. Although I wanted to for a while now. Kempten and the the Allgäu are in a region with beautiful landscapes and there’s lots of hiking and other things to do in Summer. In winter there is lots to do as well if you have the right clothes and know how to do any of the winter sports. Well I did manage to find some snow pants and warm clothes to take with me but I’ve only ever been skying once in my life and that was almost 9 or 10 years ago….

Taking the bus down takes about 7-8 hours and even longer if it starts snowing somewhere along the way and doesn’t stop. So it took a while to get there but at least it was safe to say that we have snow over the weekend. Since our winter so far had been rather warm and not much like winter at all this prospect made me very excited! It kept on snowing until Sunday evening which felt both amazing and a bit crazy.

Saturday we went on a walk through the snow up a hill called ‘Mariaberg’. It ended up being a 4 hours walk and I was super exhausted at the end. Walking through snow can be quite hard if you are not used to it. My sister also told us that the snow wouldn’t be deep enough yet and we didn’t need our snowpants. Well it might have been too warm but at one point we sank in to the point where the snow reached above our knees. My one sister and I have shorter legs than our oldest sister. That was also the point I realised that my wintershoes might be waterproof but not if snow is coming in from the top and you are stepping in a waterhole underneath the snow :D. But anyway it was still a lot of fun to experience this much snow again and who doesn’t love to make snowangels!!! Around Cologne we don’t tend to get so much snow.

 

The Sunday involved quite a lot of walking/hiking in the snow again as we went up to a hut in the mountains to go sledding down later. Well I don’t know about you guys but where I live we don’t have a lot of mountains and hills to hike up to all the time and this 1 1/2 hour hike was quite hard. It was snowing the whole time and everything looked quite beautiful but I was ready to just sit when we finally arrived at the end. So after a break we attempted to build a snowmen. Everyone told us the snow was too soft and it wouldn’t work but we proofed them wrong. You might not call him perfect but he had three body parts and stood on its own ;). When it came to sledding down unfortunately we weren’t very successful as there was so much new snow that you got stuck quite often.

Finally on the last day my sister had time to do something with me (the had work again after that), we went for another walk to the ‘Bachtelweiher’ in Kempten. That day the sun was shining and everything looked like a magical winter wonderland. The ‘Bachtelweiher’ is a big pond and there are lots of nice walks around. Plus it was completely frozen over (though I don’t know how thick the ice was so we didn’t try to walk on it).

As much fun as it was coming home afterwards I realised that now I had enough snow for this winter and am ready for spring to get here. I’m definitely not a winter girl 🙂

 

One thought on “Winter in Kempten

Leave a Reply

