DIY Disney shoes

So this is something I’ve been doing in March/April this year. As it so often happens I got inspired by seeing something somewhere on the internet and thought ‘hey, I should be able to make that’… I can’t remember where I saw the photo, unlike most of the crafty population of this world I don’t use pinterest and that makes it a bit hard sometimes to keep track of where things I saw came from.

But I saw these hand painted Disney shoes and since I love Disney movies (I’ll forever be a kid in my heart who loves watching them), I wanted to try making some my self. If you’ve followed my blog for a while you know I love to paint so it wasn’t that weird of a thought. Luckily I found some plain white shoes at the store I was working for and got them super cheap. My thinking was that if i mess it up at least I wouldn’t have spend too much on the attempt. The harder thing was deciding on which Disney movie to paint. A lot of my favourites have humans as main characters and since faces and hands  aren’t my strong points I finally decided on making a pair of Tarzan shoes for my self. Halfway through that my sister saw them and wanted some herself. She decided on her favourite Disney movie: Nemo.

 

 

As you can see of course I drew everyting on in pencil first before starting with the painting. Though it wasn’t really possible to erase the pencil it did help making sure that I had the placing of the characters right. I’m really happy with how they turned out. Maybe I’ll make some more in the future, there’s still so many fantastic Disney movies like ‘The Lion King’, ‘Beauty and the Beast’

Any way all you need is white shoes, acrylic paint and a fixating spray so that the colour stays on. I’ve worn mine a few times and so far nothing happened to them (even in rain).

One thought on “DIY Disney shoes

Leave a Reply

