Welcome back whales

I am so so happy that there are already a few whales in the fjord. Last year I arrived about three weeks later and it was a bit complicated at the beginning to find the whales. But now we have already seen 5 different humpback whales and one a couple of days even two minke whales. Most of the tours have been super relaxed and nice. Last weekend one of the humpbacks was almost in the harbour, I couldn’t even finish my intro and there it was . Really cool but also a bit annoying when you have 2 1/2 to 3 hours to fill 😀 Anyways here are a few of the photos I’ve taken so far when I was working.

On two days we also saw some tail slapping, which is always nice and interesting to see.

Although I do not know a lot about seabirds, I am super happy that right now there are still quite a few gannets in the area. They are probably my favourite sea bird, I don’t know a lot about them but they are just so elegant looking. As you can also see there is still quite a bit of snow on the mountain tops, though it is possible to see differences every few days as the snow melts.

One thought on “Welcome back whales

Leave a Reply

