Stamp envy: UK

Here’s the thing, I love postal stamps, all the different designs and shapes and how creative they are. So yes I get stamp envy, not about the stamps other people get on their mail although that sometimes is the case. No it’s about the pretty stamps other countries release and not being in those countries to buy and use them. So I decided that I might start a little series of blog posts on this because there are so many and I personally like to torture myself with looking at them knowing I can not buy them because of being in the wrong country, the post offices not sending stamps internationally or me just not willing to pay for the shipping costs that would entail.

The first country as you can see from the title will be the UK. Just in the last three or four years they have released so many beautiful gorgeous stamps and every time I read about new ones I just want to have them all ๐Ÿ˜€

So I’ll try to sort them by year from most recent to oldest ๐Ÿ™‚ The ones I really love are the Beatrix Potter ones because I just love all her illustrations and seeing them just brings back so fond memories of my childhood. It was reading about these cool new Agatha Christie stamps though that sparked the idea to writing this post. I read this article on how there are hidden clues in the stamps and it is just such a cool idea. There is still a little hope that maybe one day (or in a couple of months when I’m back in Germany) I get one of these stamps on a postcrossing card ๐Ÿ™‚

The stamps the Royal Mail released in 2015 were equally beautiful and included the amazing Alice in Wonderland stamps. In that case I was fortunate enough to not only get one of the stamps through postcrossing but have it arrive on a matching postcard. One of the ones I will always treasure. The postcards the Royal Mail always has matching the stamps are also something that spark my stamp/postcard envy.

Following now a few stamps that were released in 2014/2013 that I adore even though I have only ever seen them on the internet. I’m a Marine Biologist so how could I not love the fish stamps… The Jane Austen stamps are fantastic, not just because I love the books but just look at those designs!!!! During University a friend introduced me to Doctor Who and while I have to admit that I’ve only watched the newer seasons, I ย adore them and think those stamps are just amazing.

So I hope you guys enjoyed looking at all theses beautiful stamps that, unless you are british (then yay I’m glad for you :)), you might feel like me and also just admire from a far.

4 thoughts on “Stamp envy: UK

  1. I also have stamp envy of UK postage!! There was a time when you could buy collector’s editions of the UK Alice in Wonderland stamps through the US Postal Service–why, I’m not sure–but I was surely tempted. It’s probably no surprise that I’ve been coveting the Beatrix Potter ones for a while, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very beautiful stamps! The Agatha Christie ones are amazing (I am a long time fan of hers, so I have one more reason to like them). As a “gatherer” of stamps with fictional characters (saying I am a collector is too much…) I knew about them but did not know about the hidden clues!
    Also I did not know about the doctor Who series.
    Now I am looking forward to the next posts in this series ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

