Hamburg

About a week ago I went on a short day trip up north to Hamburg. My sister wanted to visit a friend and as I didn’t have to work that day I decided to tag along. It is a bit of a drive from Cologne, about 4 hours.

We spend most of the time just walking around and luckily it didn’t start raining until the very end. When we got to the Elbe we walked through the old tunnel which I’ve never done before. The old Elbtunnel, also called St. Pauli Elbtunnel was build in 1911 and is now mostly used by pedestrians. Although it is still possible for card to use the tunnel however it is a one way tunnel, so for part of the day you can go from the north to the south side and for the other half of the day it’s the other way around.

On the way into the tunnel and all along the walls there are a lot of cool reliefs. All the ones inside the tunnel feature cool ocean creatures.

Apparently I can’t go anywhere without either finding ocean life or something book related and on this trip I got both. While walking through the Speicherstadt I found the Tolkien themed Sail boats called J.R.R. Tolkien and Lothlorien. Of course I had to take some photos of them šŸ˜‰

Now just a few more photos from our walk featuring the underside of a train way, the Speicherstadt and the ‘Michel’ (Sankt Michaelis Church), the most known Church in Hamburg.

Leave a Reply

